Next Seniors event … Bruges


Event: European Masters Qualifiers 2

When? 17-19 August 2018

Where? Snooker Palace, Noordzandstraat 4, 8000 Brugge

Entries are now closed.

Here is the draw:

EuroQualBruges Draw -1EuroQualBruges Draw -2

And the format and a very international field with players from the host country, Belgium, bein there “en force”, including the current national Masters 40+ champion and the current Masters +40 n°1.  There is also a strong presence of France, with, in particular, Stéphane Ochoiski, a man who has been promoting snooker in France tirelessly, a coach and father of Brian Ochoiski, currently competing in the Challenge tour.

EuroQualBruges Format

Thats 48 entries. Not bad! The 16 players, higher in the ranking list, have been seeded.

And on the Thursday, Jason Francis plans to organise a special “warm-up” event, Ryder Cup style, with the UK players pitched against the rest of the World.

If you are traveling from UK, Eurostar from St Pancras is a good option. It will  bring you in Gare du Midi. From there the train to Bruges will cost you only about 15€ and will bring you at your destination in about one hour. Directly from the train Station platform n°1, you have a choice of busses bringing you close to the venue in the city centre (1/4 of a mile or less) in 2 or 3 stops. The whole journey should be no more than 10-12 minutes.

The Tornado returns

This good news was posted by Jason Francis this morning:

After a period of ill-health we are delighted to announce that “The Tornado” Tony Drago will be one of the legends playing for the £20,000 WINNER TAKES ALL prize in Belfast in March at the World Seniors 6 Reds World Championship. Tony joins Stephen Hendry, Jimmy White, Ken Doherty, Joe Johnson and Aaron Canavan as the 6 seeds, they will be joined by a NIBSA nominated player and the winner of the qualifier in Newbury in February.…/all-events/world-seniors-snooker/

Very happy to see Tony back. He’s always a great asset to any event!

More money to be earned in Hong Kong Qualifiers

This Press Release was issue by Jason Francis

Our partners at i20 in Hong Kong have added 7500 HKD to the prize fund next month. The runner up will now get 5000HKD and the losing semi finalists will play a 3rd and 4th place play off for 2500HKD.
A fantastic gesture from our hosts in a wonderful city. You still have time to enter and come on a trip of a life time….
Enter now by clicking here: :
Players in China or Hong Kong can enter by contacting Sam Hon or Angel

This is certainly great news!

Willie Thorne set to return to Goffs

Willie Thorne, who recently had an eye surgery in the hope to be able to play snooker at a high level again is set to return to Goffs for the 2019 Irish Masters.


Willie said “What a thrill to be going back to Goffs. I got to the final in 85 and 86 losing to Jimmy and Davis. great memories & one of the best venues. I remember Ken Doherty selling programmes as a young boy as well!!”

Willie could possibly face Jimmy in the final again … or Ken, who, surely won’t be selling programs this time!

Tickets for the tournament are on sales now


A threat to Stephen Hendry?

News has filtered – via WPBSA website – that Mark Johnston-Allen is eager to join the World Seniors Tour as he has unfinished business.

Johnston-Allen to Return for “Unfinished Business”

29th July 2018

Former world number 31 Mark Johnston-Allen is the latest player who will dare to dream on the World Seniors Snooker Tour (WSST) having entered a qualifying event for the 2019 World Seniors Snooker Championship.

A two-time ranking event finalist, Johnston-Allen is perhaps best remembered for his perfect 3-0 record against seven-time world champion Stephen Hendry, who he could yet meet once again on the WSST. His best performance at the World Championship came in 1992 when he qualified for the Crucible for the only time, losing to Tony Knowles in the opening round.

In recent years the Bristolian has also become a familiar face as both a commentator and Master of Ceremonies at several events.

“This is unfinished business for me!” said Johnston-Allen, “I haven’t played for 15 years but I am looking forward to catching up with my old sparring partners once again.”

The WPBSA World Seniors Snooker Tour is open to any player over 40. Enter a qualifying event online.

So here is the man about whom Hendry once said “I keep losing to people who shouldn’t be in the same room as me”. Come on Jason, you’ll need two players lounges! (just kidding!).

You can read about the incident and other snooker bust-ups in this typical David Hendon piece.

World Seniors UK Championship 2018 news and schedule

The schedule for the Seniors UK Championship 2018 in Hull has been published and here it is:


The event is played end October 2018 and, as you can see above, on Wednesday 24 October six of the Legends involved in the tournament will be in action. Not to be missed. On the next morning, the Seniors reigning Champion, Aaron Canavan and Ken Doherty will enter the fray.

Someone else who will be in Hull, is the inaugural World Snooker Federation Masters Champion in Malta, Igor Figuereido from Brazil, pictured here with Jason Ferguson.

Igor Figuereido WSF Masters Champion 2018

Igor is a larger than life cheerful character, with a broad infectious smile. But make no mistake, at the table, he’s there to win and he’s seriously good! He will definitely be a contender in Hull!

Sean Lanigan wins the Seniors European Masters Qualifier 1


There were only had 24 entries so there was no play on Friday.

The event did not reach 32 entries therefore  top 8 seeded players from the Seniors World Ranking list have been placed into the draw with the other 16 drawn randomly to play a match to face a seed in the Last 16.

The format of the European Open is best of 5 with no deciding frame respot.

Here are day 1 – July 21 2018 – results

Left Half

Round 1

Paul Currie 1-3 Aidan Devenney
Paul Donaghy  NS – Rodney Goggins WO
Owen Toland NS  – Tony Bullimer WO
Tom O’Driscoll 2-3 Sean Gray

Round 2

Aidan Devenney 0-3 Jonathan Bagley
Rodney Goggins 3-1 Robert Marshall
Tony Bullimer 1-3 Dermot McGlinchey
Sean Gray 1-3 Michael Judge


Rodney Goggins 3-1 Jonathan Bagley
Michael Judge 3-0 Dermot McGlinchey


Rodney Goggins 2-3 Michael Judge

Right Half

Round 1

Joe Sims 0-3 Tommy Murphy
Paul TheCannon Canavan 1-3 Tony Corrigan
Hughie O’Donnell WO – Mark Davies NS
Pat Bonnar WO – James Flaherty NS

Round 2

Tommy Murphy 0-3 Lee Richardson
Tony Corrigan 0-3 Anthony Bonnar
Hughie O’Donnell 2-3 Joe Delaney
Pat Bonnar 0-3 Sean Lanigan


Lee Richardson 3-1 Anthony Bonnar
Joe Delaney 2-3 Sean Lanigan


Sean Lanigan 3-0 Lee Richarson

The Final

Sean Lanigan 3-1 Michael Judge

50+ breaks

Rodney Goggins 121, 62
Michael Judge 104 (attempted maximum), 97, 95, 57, 52, 51
Sean Lanigan 79,75,54
Tony Corrigan 78
Joe Delaney 74, 58
Lee Richardson 81
Jonathan Bagley 66
Dermot McGlinchey 66
Hughie O’Donnell 64
Aidan Devenney 60
Sean Gray 50